Writing Tip Revisited

Posted: November 17, 2012 in Musing
Tags: , , , ,

So I’m doing this National Novel Writing Month thing, where we give ourselves thirty days to write 50,000 words that we can then call a novel. We are a little beyond the halfway point, and I am a little under the halfway count (24,000), so I am pleased at that. I didn’t know if I would be able to do it, but now that we are halfway, I think I can – I think I can – I think I can. (Like the guy who went to swim the Mississippi and got halfway across and realized he wouldn’t make it, so he turned around and went back…not gonna be me.)
So one thing I learned: sit down and start writing with a goal of 200 words or a page or a paragraph and not necessarily a big chunk. I found that just starting will lead to more words than I thought and the next thing I know is that paragraph turned into 500 words or more. I do this many times a day, instead of saying I am going to write for 2 hours (or 3 or 4), but I am going to write for ten minutes or while I wait in the car or at the next appointment, and all these 10 minutes (and 500 words) add up quickly.
Case in point, I sat down to write this, thinking it would be 200 words (because I don’t want to use up too many of my daily allotment, right?) and it turned into how many: 400. And ten minutes later I have at least updated my blog – which has become hard to do due to the NaNoWriMo thing.
Anyone else out there doing the NaNoWriMo?
Anyone else discovered this ten minute block thing (which in itself CAN turn into an hour or two 🙂 ?
Anyone else have any tips that can help us to write more? And what do you do when you realize that your 24,000 words is in reality 90 percent of the novel and you will not get anywhere near 50,000 when you write “The End.” What then? Please share!!!

(Now, back to the novel…)

Leave a Reply

