More Christian Horror: “Remake”

Posted: March 1, 2013 in Film Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Remake

I have to say that I enjoyed “Remake.” Yes, it has plenty of trouble spots, but it is an indie ultralow-budget film, and if you enjoy indie ultralow-budget films because of what they are, you will enjoy “Remake” as well as I did. I had a lot of fun watching this film (maybe more than I was supposed to?), but it has a pretty good storyline, and that is key in my book for a successful film. No amount of production value can save a poor story, but the opposite is possible, and I think “Remake” is a good example.
The story revolves around Pastor Carl Slayton (Doug Phillips, who also wrote/directed) and his wife Rita (Kelly Barry-Miller), whose daughter (Dani Palmer) goes missing. They learn she has been kidnapped when they get a phone call from her abductor (Joel Thingvall). Pastor Slayton learns at the same time that his wife has a sordid past – one that involves acting in snuff films – because the deranged director of her best-known film is the kidnapper, and the ransom is either for Rita to star in a remake or he will force their daughter to be in it. Snuff films are films where the filmmakers actually torture and kill people on camera, and part of the plot revolves how Rita was an “actress” in her films because, obviously, she has survived. But not this time – hence the need for a remake: someone will die, either Rita will or her daughter will.
All of this is news that no pastor wants to wake up to, and his marriage, trust, and faith is put to the test. Yes, this is a faith-based film, but like no other you have probably seen. His dealing with this new knowledge (and each other), and how they can get their daughter safely home (and get this creep behind bars) comprise the remainder of the story.
I am not sure if it was on purpose but since the film is about snuff films (and I have not seen one), but I have to think that the quality of these snuff films are not up to Hollywood standards, and this movie reflects that same production value. I think the filmmakers of “Remake” might be trying to mirror what you might expect to find in a snuff film. That said you will not find top-notch special effects or makeup, and the lighting, audio, and cinematography is lacking as well. As a Christian film, too, be prepared that it also has scantily clad women (no nudity), gore, and violence. So let that be a warning if you do not like controversial subject matter or these kinds of slasher-type films. It is not rated, but would most likely be R-rated if it was.
The cast carry the film well enough, especially Kelly Barry-Miller and Dani Palmer. Joel Thingvall is completely menacing, and I enjoyed his almost lackadaisical approach to the horrendous acts he commits. I would have to think that someone in his business would have to be totally detached from his reality. And Doug Phillips is convincing as the blindsided pastor. He comes across as someone we all probably know.
You will not come across another film quite like “Remake.” It is truly unique and goes to places other films will dare not – especially faith-based ones. I really found myself enjoying “Remake,” and I think you will too, as long as you go in with lesser expectations (but still like a good story), and expect to have fun. You can find links to purchase or rent “Remake” at the facebook site or directly from Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Remake-Kelly-Barry-Miller/dp/B00AJ2XE6Q.

.

.

.

.

.

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or
services mentioned above in the hope that I would mention it
on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally
and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance
with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the
Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

